aside I’ve Started a New Project, and Need Your Input

I’m beginning work on a new book tentatively titled, Road Trip. It’s a resource to encourage homeschool families along their journey and to admonish them to keep their eyes on what’s truly important:  the hearts of their family.

If you are a homeschool family, please use the comment box below to answer a few questions for me:

1) What made you decide to begin the homeschooling journey?

2) How long have you been homeschooling?

3) How does your homeschool journey differ now from when you began?

4) What do you count among the greatest blessings you and your family have received through home education?

5) What are some of the lessons you have learned educating your kids at home?

Thank you in advance for your input! I look forward to hearing from you. Please feel free to share any of your fondest homeschool memories/moments here too. If you know other homeschool families, please refer them here. I’d love to get their input too.

14 comments

  1. Originally, I hadn’t know that home school was an option. When I learned several people in my area were, it couldn’t have come at a better time. Both of my sons (now the oldest of 5) were on the verge of special education (I had seen my husband in this program throughout his school years and even as a young student, I was horrified) and medication. My heart was broken. I was being bullied by teachers who believed medication was the best answer. I didn’t believe this. I asked God: ‘If this is my journey, if this is right for my sons, please set it up for me.”
    He (God) was faithful to do so.

    We have been homeschooling for 9 years.

    In the beginning, record keeping was daunting. I had a baby, a preschooler and two elementary aged sons, so school was an adventure. Now I have 5 sons ranging from kindergarten through 12th grade. School is easier in some ways as it has made a lasting groove in our daily lives but it is ALWAYS posing new challenges. I have never experienced something so difficult to self-deny that pays with a return that has immeasurable value besides parenting itself.

    I believe there are many, many blessings in a dedicated home schooling career. The one I find the most valuable is the connection between my children and I and them and their Creator. These relationships couldn’t have been nurtured in the same way if I had been working (because let’s face it, one income is difficult) and they had been in a public school system. The fact that they (the older two) have successfully made it to and through high school without medication is also a wonderful blessing.

    Lessons? Where could anyone start? I am still learning. I’ll say learning to listen in a real way is one lesson that I haven’t perfected but I won’t quit trying. Listening a wonderful tool. Not just hearing their (my children) words, but hearing what they desire, how they learn, what they are interested in. Listening to their hearts. Even when they say things you don’t want to hear or are cause for concern, listen without denying them the right to feel how they feel or causing them to feel bad about themselves. Obviously, instruction is needed sometimes but delivering in a way that edifies the child and addresses the concern(s). For me, this is a constant work in progress, especially with 5 very different personalities. Having been raised in a very secular world, I am constantly and pleasantly surprised (at times, even shocked) at the honesty that comes from being heard.
    Another lesson: glean everything that is being offered but make it work for you. Not everything that works for one family will work for yours. I almost always ‘tweak’ what I have gleaned to make it work for my family.
    Having a support system (even if it’s just one person) is extremely helpful. Moms tend to beat themselves up mentally as to what they should have done, where they believe they failed, weaknesses, and anything that poses a potential threat to their child or their parenting, etc. Having someone who has experienced similar things in a similar light is a great way to return to the fact that you are doing the best you can, you are doing what is best for your children, people make mistakes, and you are to bounce back to that perspective and keep going.

    Thanks for letting me share.

    Like

  2. Great questions! Let me see…

    1) My husband and I made this decision when we were still dating. I always wanted to BE homeschooled; he wanted his kids to be homeschooled, but didn’t want to force his wife into it. I made an offhand comment on the subject (being that it was mentioned in a news article) and told him I’d like to. He said, “Done.” That was the end of the conversation. (lol)
    Honestly, I think it stemmed from the need to simply spend time with our kids. Why send them away when I could be home, enjoying their company?

    2) We’ve been homeschooling for over twelve years.

    3) Really, the only difference is that our kids are older. We’ve altered our routines a little over the years, but our methods have always been consistent, as has our choice in curriculum.

    4) Our ability to spend time together and bond our family unit has been the greatest benefit of home education. My husband is self-employed, we homeschool; we are always together. Our kids know us, and we know them. We understand our kids better, know their weaknesses, train them accordingly, and gear their learning towards where God is leading.

    5) Some things we’ve learned from home education is there is no ‘one way’ to do things; not even amongst our own kids. We’ve also learned consistency is key! While we knew this in principle, knowing experientially is an entirely different animal. Also, I would add, routines are very important. It helps children develop consistency, have healthy living patterns, and teaches them time management.

    Hope some of this helps!

    Like

  3. 1) What made you decide to begin the homeschooling journey?
    My first child was learning at an advanced pace in the beginning. And I wanted to nurture that as soon as I could. I didn’t want to have to wait around for when I was allowed to put her in public school. And she also had severe allergies. I was worried about how she would handle being out all the time and what if she came into contact with one of her major allergens and didn’t have her epi pen. Thankfully that’s not a worry anymore.

    2) How long have you been homeschooling?
    7 years

    3) How does your homeschool journey differ now from when you began?
    We let God lead us now. Where to go. We try to focus less on the milestones and where they are expected to be. Now we try to go with the flow of each child. Ben got new books for next year they are Star Wars themed. He loves counting the wookies!

    4) What do you count among the greatest blessings you and your family have received through home education?
    We have gotten to know each other as a family. God should be a part of everything. Even school

    5) What are some of the lessons you have learned educating your kids at home?
    Everyone is different. We don’t all learn the same.

    Like

  4. 1) What made you decide to begin the homeschooling journey?
    My first child was learning at an advanced pace in the beginning. And I wanted to nurture that as soon as I could. I didn’t want to have to wait around for when I was allowed to put her in public school. And she also had severe allergies. I was worried about how she would handle being out all the time and what if she came into contact with one of her major allergens and didn’t have her epi pen. Thankfully that’s not a worry anymore.

    2) How long have you been homeschooling?
    7 years

    3) How does your homeschool journey differ now from when you began?
    We let God lead us now. Where to go. We try to focus less on the milestones and where they are expected to be. Now we try to go with the flow of each child. Ben got new books for next year they are Star Wars themed. He loves counting the wookies!

    4) What do you count among the greatest blessings you and your family have received through home education?
    We have gotten to know each other as a family. God should be a part of everything. Even school

    5) What are some of the lessons you have learned educating your kids at home?
    Everyone is different. We don’t all learn the same.

    Like

Leave a Reply

